A Life of Love

Loving life and all there is…

Love and Learn

on March 28, 2015

Three months went by so quickly, but not so swiftly. When I came to this place I found myself astonished not only by its inner beauty but by the mere fact that I am truly here at last. Two tries and I finally got the opportunity to be where I am. I could not be more thankful to all the prayers and help that my family and friends extended to me while I was preparing for this.

When I arrived I became too consumed with the things before me and to be honest, seldom are the moments when I pause. Quite frankly, I did not take time to breathe and have my personal selah (pause and meditate). I was taken over the thought that I should be doing these and that and so from time to time I needed a friendly slap from God to remind me why in the world I am here in my promise land. God has been merciful and miraculous enough that despite the difficulties I faced during my transition stage (which I believe I am still in now) I was able to survive. Certain challenges I faced are listed below:

Culture and Language: It is both exciting and fearsome at the same time. As for me, my confidence in English suddenly crumbled since this is not an English speaking nation by nature. Just like where I came from, we have a local language. (As I was writing, the people around me are talking and even if they talk too much or too loud even if we are in the library, I could not comprehend.) It became a struggle for I have to make an effort to learn their language and understand even just a bit. Good thing after three months I am not at all clueless. I am hoping to learn more and be able to converse in their native tongue. Aside from the language, restrictions are everywhere and there are many things that if you do, you might appear weird and unusual. Many things are not supposed to be done for if so then people might be offended and you might be sent back home in hours. Good thing I am not much of a trouble maker. And even if I talk too much in my mind, I have learned along the way to keep my mouth shut and speak only when necessary.

People: This has posited more difficulties for me. Not only those who belong to different cultures but also those whose roots are the same as mine. I’ve learned many lessons about interpersonal relationships in the last three months. Some I was able to write down but the others I keep in my heart in case of need.

When you are angry and you believe that someday, somehow you will be able to forgive, refrain from stabbing that person’s back with your sharp words. For when you get back together, people will question either the truth of what you said when you were angry or the truth of your forgiveness. 

and some sort of…

You can not impose your standards of living to other people; you are in no position to force them to do what you want them to do. You are not them so you might never understand completely where they are coming from.

and then some…

When you seek help, make sure you are willing to accept whichever help is given to you.

Living with different people day in and day out is crazy at times. The grace of God is what sustains me as I live through each day. I adjust and I try to conform. I try to understand up to the last inch as I try to live my very normal life. I have learned of course that I cannot please everybody and if I do just try to please one person for a day, it will drive me mad. There is a life that I have to live for myself and carry out the mission that God has given me as I set foot in this place. These things I could not sacrifice just so the others would be completely happy in their vicious ways and I would be left devastated having lost the battle I was not supposed to be fighting for in the first place. Treating others the right way is way different from giving in to their wants. Sometimes treating them right might mean not giving in to every wish they have and not letting them have their selfish ways. Still at the end of the day, I choose to love them. Even if they do bad and treat me selfishly and discriminate me, I have a message which I seek to convey and that is love. It is tough but I have to be tougher everyday. I have to face each morning with renewed strength. I have to open each door I pass through with much determination that the day before. I have to see the bright side of things even if I live with constant magnification of negativities. I have to fight every negative thought that tries to infiltrate my mind every single day and I have to shift my gaze on the good ones and appreciate them.

There are days when I wish that I have a different situation but I realized I might be wishing the same if I had not been here. Sometimes I wish I could choose the people who will surround me but I could not think of otherwise. I believe that this is the best possible place where God wants me to be because He is preparing me for something greater and bigger in the future. The difficulties I am facing right now will work together so I can be of use for His Kingdom. If I do not see the good here, how can I see the good in other places…in other things…in other situations.

Despite all these circumstances, I am still thankful for there are still people who have chosen to deliver the message of love like me. There are people whom God have sent so I can get through the trying times. There are loved ones who keep on encouraging me to move forward and never falter to remind me of my purpose, of my ministry. I have to be reminded that  there is a cause that is bigger than myself and I should not let these hindrances completely build the wall between me and my purpose.

It has been three months of learning and loving. Learning to love. Loving to learn. Thank you Lord.

10391410_1007443459284622_627311953730735927_n


Leave a comment